19 NHS Hospitals that are Facing Closure

These are the 19 hospitals, including five major acute hospitals, that could face closure as part of NHS budget cuts.

According to an investigation by i, the hospitals below could face closure in the biggest shake up in a generation to plug a £22bn black hole in funding.

Acute Hospitals

  • South West London – one of five sites proposed to close
  • St Helier, St George’s, Epsom, Croydon, Kingston
  • North West London – future of Ealing Hospital in doubt
  • Leicestershire – one of three acute hospital sites proposed to close
  • Black Country – merger of two general hospitals to a single site
  • Dorset – merger of Royal Bournemouth and Poole Hospital

Community Hospitals

  • Alston, Cumbria **
  • Maryport, Cumbria **
  • Wigton, Cumbria **
  • Hinkley and District Hospital, Leicestershire
  • Rutland Memorial Hospital, Leicestershire
  • Bolsover Community Hospital, Derbyshire
  • Newholme Hospital, Derbyshire
  • St Leonards, Dorset
  • Alderney, Dorset
  • Westhaven, Dorset
  • Ashburton, Devon *
  • Bovey Tracey, Devon *
  • Dartmouth, Devon *
  • Paignton, Devon *

(* To be replaced by health and well-being centres) (** Closure of all beds under consideration)


You can read the full list of proposed changes to NHS services here. Sustainability and Transformation Plans (STPs) are being used as justification for the closure of services.