Fourteen hospitals chosen to pilot new A&E targets

The national four-hour target has not been met since 2015.

Ian Snug
5 April 2019
sign Accident and Emergency Department.

The four-hour A&E target could be replaced if the pilot is successful.

NHS England has selected fourteen hospitals to pilot the new accident and emergency standards. If the pilot is successful it could see the four-hour target replaced nationwide.


Last month, NHS England said it was time to review the “outdated target”. But, the Royal College of Emergency Medicine has warned that any changes should be in the ‘best interests of patients’ rather than ‘political will’.

The trusts chosen include “a range of geographies and performance against the current A&E standard”. Those chosen to pilot the new standards are;

  • Cambridge University Hospitals
  • Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
  • Frimley Health
  • Imperial College Healthcare
  • Kettering General Hospital
  • Luton and Dunstable University Hospital
  • Mid Yorkshire Hospitals
  • North Tees and Hartlepool
  • Nottingham University Hospitals
  • Plymouth Hospitals
  • Poole Hospital
  • Portsmouth Hospitals
  • Rotherham
  • West Suffolk

The four new main standards being tested are:

  • Time from arrival to initial clinical assessment.
  • Time to treat critically ill and injured patients.
  • The average waiting time for all patients.
  • How often the trust uses ambulatory care services.

An NHS England update said: “These trusts have been selected because they represent a range of geographies and performance against the current A&E standard.


“NHS England and NHS Improvement will be working with their clinical and operational leads in order to design a testing process which can begin from May.

“Where applicable, those trusts will also be working on an operational level with their local mental health trust colleagues, and there’ll also be national contact with them.”

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments