What are the 6Cs?

The 6Cs are the core values and expectations that have been drawn up by NHS England Chief Nursing Officer Jane Cummings and they initially launched in December 2012.

  • Care
  • Compassion
  • Courage
  • Communication
  • Commitment
  • Competence

They have been embraced and implemented by NHS Trusts around the country and national organisations such as the NMC and RCN.


The 6Cs are important because all NHS Staff, not just Doctors and Nurses, are expected to abide to the 6Cs within their role. It doesn't matter if you are a porter, domestic, radiographer - the 6Cs provide a unified approach to providing a high-quality patient experience.

Think about how many people patients encounter in a typical patient journey. The 6Cs are essential to providing a positive experience for the patient that is seamless from start to finish.